Live music and entertainment
Jul08

Live music and entertainment

July 8 John Franzosa at Hermanos from 6:30 to 9 p.m. N.H. Fiddle Ensemble at Eagle Square at 7 p.m. April Cushman at Cheers from 6 to 9 p.m. July 9 Swappin Set with Lucas Gallo and Dave Emeny at Area 23 at 7 p.m. Ariel Strasser at SHARA Vineyards from 6 to 8 p.m. July 10 Scott Solsky at Hermanos from 6:30 to 9 p.m. Brian Booth at Concord Craft Brewing from 4 to 6 p.m. Concord Chorale presents Carl Orff’s “Carmina Burana” online in a...

Read More

City news: Ward 4 special election info

The city manager’s office sent out the City Manager’s Newsletter last Friday. The full newsletter can be found by going to concordnh.gov and clicking the “Newsletter” button. Here are some highlights: City meetings City meetings will be held in person in Council Chambers at 37 Green Street (unless otherwise specified on the City’s calendar). Upcoming meetings include: City Council: Monday, July 12, 7 p.m. Planning Board: Monday,...

Read More
Sportswriter to share stories
Jul08

Sportswriter to share stories

A clash of NBA titans. Seven riveting games. One young reporter. Welcome to the 1969 NBA Finals. Sports journalist Leigh Montville visits Gibson’s Bookstore virtually on July 15 at 7 p.m. to present Tall Men, Short Shorts: The 1969 NBA Finals: Wilt, Russ, Lakers, Celtics, and a Very Young Sports Reporter, a masterpiece of sports journalism with a charming touch of personal memoir. Montville has crafted his most entertaining book...

Read More

Actors make it look effortless

Monitor staffNext up on the Hatbox Theatre stage is Seminar, created by Pulitzer Prize nominee and creator of hit TV show Smash Theresa Rebeck. The show is presented by RGC Theatrical and will run from July 9 to 18.Seminar, a provocative dramedy that will have you laughing with the cast and feeling their tension.Four aspiring young novelists sign up for private writing classes with Leonard, an international literary figure. Under his...

Read More
Book: Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Jul08

Book: Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained

Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained By Una McGovern (760 pages, nonfiction, 2007) How unusual. How preposterous. How scandalous. Can it be true? Maybe fiction isn’t so made up. This book reports thousands of weird occurrences and paranormal phenomena. Everything from aliens to superstition and folklore to people reportedly having powers. There’s bound to be something that piques your curiosity. I intended to just skim this big...

Read More

This week in Concord history

July 8, 1967: Monitor reporters set out in the streets of Concord to test a Harris poll’s findings that President Lyndon B. Johnson’s popularity is rising and that the Vietnam War will be a decisive factor in the 1968 presidential election. Interviews with 115 people in Concord turn up these results: 28.7 percent like Johnson more than they did in 1964, 58 percent like him less. Most of those who criticize Johnson cite his handling of...

Read More
Book: Kitty’s Mix-Tape
Jul08

Book: Kitty’s Mix-Tape

Kitty’s Mix-Tape By Carrie Vaughn (288 pages, fiction, 2020) If you like stories about werewolves, especially feisty ones that host a radio talk show, you’ll love this hilarious short story collection. These stories are based on a larger series, but you can read them as a standalone. But be warned, it will make you want to read more about Kitty and her adventures with her non-human friends. In one of the stories, Kitty goes to her...

Read More
Book: Hunters Vs. Vampire Snow White
Jul08

Book: Hunters Vs. Vampire Snow White

Hunters Vs. Vampire Snow White By Amy Cornwell (180 pages, YA fiction, 2019) For fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Ready Player One. Can this group of demon hunters stop vampire Snow White and her Seven Deadly Sins before they raise demon king, Ravana? Artemis is a loner. Video games are the only friends she needs. She’s a witch who’s been on the run since demons killed her family when she was a kid. She can’t stop, won’t stop, or...

Read More

Our Newspaper Family Includes:

Copyright 2020 The Concord Insider - Privacy Policy - Copyright